Hess, Wunch to perform in WRH

Abby Stevens, Staff writer

The next recital in the D’Angelo Department of Music Faculty Recital Series is scheduled to take place on Nov. 6 at 8 p.m. in the Walker Recital Hall.

This event will feature Rebecca Wunch, M.M., on solo clarinet and Nathan Hess, D.M.A., on solo piano.

The clarinet repertoire for the evening includes Dance Preludes for clarinet and piano, by Witold Lutoslawski; Concertino for clarinet and piano, by Carl Maria von Weber and Fantasy for B-flat clarinet, by Malcom Arnold.

The piano pieces that will be performed in the program include a Chopin set featuring Mazurka in A Minor, Op. 17, No. 4, Mazurka in A-Flat Minor, Op. 59, No. 2 and Prelude in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 45.

The piano set will also feature selections from Waldscenen, Op. 82 by Robert Schumann and Nocturne by Ottorinno Respighi.

When asked what makes the selections distinctive, both soloists say that it is the diversity of the pieces.

“There’s a lot of variety,” Wunch said when asked what was considered when building the repertoire for the recital.

Some pieces are very classical while another, more modern piece plays on a particular repeated theme. Wunch also says that her favorite piece to play of the three, the one by Arnold, differs from her favorite one to listen to, the one by Lutoslawski.

This is a understandable distinction for any musician.

Luckily, the audience’s only concern will be to listen.

“Chopin is one of my favorite composers,” Hess said when asked about the piano selections for the recital.

“He wrote so much piano music that you can’t play it in a lifetime,” Hess said.

Two of Chopin’s mazurkas will be featured, as well as one of his preludes.

The featured prelude is a four minute long standalone, separate from Chopin’s well-known 24 preludes.

As a whole, the pieces “show harmonic creativity and take the listener on a journey,” Hess said.

The second part of the piano set includes parts of Schumann’s Waldscenen, which means “forest scenes” in German.

As the name of the piece suggests, it is “a musical journey through the forest,” Hess said.

The recital on Wednesday will feature a few selections from the work.

They are the first movement, “Eintritt” (Entry), the final movement, “Abschied” (Farewell) and a third from the middle.

Last is a piece by Ottorino Respighi, a late 1800s composer whose style was influenced both by the music of the Renaissance and of the Romantic Era.

Like all other recitals in the faculty series, this event is free to attend.

Students and the public are encouraged to attend.